U Yee Mon
Union Minister | Ministry of Defence

U Yee Mon (a) Maung Tin Thit, the Union Minister of the Ministry of Defence appointed by the National Government, Myanmar, is a poet, and a politician representing the Pyithu Hluttaw from Nay Pyi Taw. In the November 2020 General Elections, he won his seat from Nay Pyi Taw, Pobba Thiri District and became a member of the Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (CRPH), a committee established four days after the coup. Prior to his appointment as the Union Minister, he had participated in and performed various democratic movements since 1988. For instance, during the uprising which took place in 1988, he participated as a student. As a result of his political activism, he was permanently removed from the Mandalay University of Medicine in 1989. In particular, U Yee Mon spent (7) years as a political prisoner in Mandalay and Myaung Mya prisons from 1998 to 2005.


Only in 2012, as a member of the National League for Democracy (NLD), the party assigned him as the member of the Mandalay Region Victory Team for 2012 By Elections, and the responsible person for the Victory Team of Pobba Thiri Township. Moreover, he has also been the member of the Township Executive Committee and the member of the Environmental Conservation Committee in Mandalay.


Besides the above mentioned duties assigned by the NLD party, the Union Minister had also performed plenty of duties assigned by the Parliament. He was a member of the Pyithu Hluttaw Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation Committee, Representative of the Union Peace Conference - 21st Century Panglong and a member of the Working Group Committee for the Security Sector. In addition, he was also a member of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Coordination Committee on the Amendment of the 2008 Constitution, a member of the National Planning and Union Revenue Scrutiny Committee Group X. Furthermore, he was the Chairman of the Hluttaw Journal and Secretary of the Hluttaw Magazine Publishing Committee.


The Union Ministry, who has profound knowledge and expertise in the security matters, was born on 9 August 1967 and has qualified 3rd M.B.B.S (1984-1988).